Expecting a new addition!

We are eagerly awaiting a new member to our household as my due date approaches!! Our midwives came for a homevisit a couple weeks ago and now the time is just around the corner! I’ve been busy the past two weeks shopping for some last minute things on my birth list, sewing those last few projects, putting up curtains in my room and getting stuff washed and ready for the big day. Now that I’m ready, I’m realizing I need to spend this last week or so being with my boys, giving my husband a little extra attention, relaxing and being content in the moment- waiting for God’s perfect time. I always find as the day of birth draws near, I draw nearer to God. I need Him all the time, I just don’t realize it sometimes because I like to be strong. I like to take care of myself. However, He makes me weak. He makes me needy. He takes care of me so much better than I can take care of myself. This past year has made me need Him more than ever and I’ve gotten to see Him take care of me time and time again! He’s a good Father and I’m glad He makes me weak. I’m glad because then the strength I have is all His! His strength can work in me.

Oh, and this was neat! For this birth David and I went to a couple childbirth classes. One of the nights each of the couples were asked to draw a picture of what they saw when they think about their upcoming birth. I’m not an artist and to top it off, we had to draw it with our non-dominant hand. We had to draw it and not look at each other’s pictures. What was neat is when we were done and exchanged pictures David and I had both felt the same word- “Surrounded”. Which is kinda strange, seeing as this birth will be our first birth so far away from friends, family and familiarity. I just feel closely surrounded by God right now though so I guess it shouldn’t be strange.

Here are a few pictures of what we’ve been getting ready….

Boy or Girl? Surprises are fun though inclination leans towards- boy.

The boy’s picked out the boy receiving blanket fabric, can’t you tell? Monsters!!

Changing table

The cloth diaper drawer

A little bit of pink, a little bit of blue...

And so… any day now. We’ve already joined the Due Dates and Beyond club! Just waiting, which isn’t so hard when you still feel great and you stay busy!

 

 

2 responses to “Expecting a new addition!

  1. Great pics and an even better story. Been thinking of you and praying for a healthy baby girl. We love you. Papa and Mema

Leave a comment